beyond the green: collective of middlebury voices

a student-run publication that seeks to provide space for voices that are not being heard on our campus. we are grounded by politics that are radical, anti-racist, anti-sexist, anti-classist, anti-homophobic, anti-ableist, and anti-transphobic (against all forms of oppression) and that reject the structural neo-liberal paradigm that characterizes middlebury college and its official publications

untitled

by Amosh Neupane

Kill me now,

It’s better to be dead

than to be breathing this toxic air,

than to walk around in my wild curly hair,

and my clothes that aren’t the typical White flair

than to speak up against White dominance and to dare,

than to give a damn about the country – and to care

about how fucked up, yes, how fucked up this fucking country is.

Kill me now,

It’s better to be dead

than to live in a society where

complexion is what makes you superior.

It’s the skin color that makes you “more equal”

In plain words, just better…

Kill me now,

It’s better to be dead

than to feign living in a just, postracial America.

Kill me now,

or give me the freedom, the justice

Travyon didn’t get…

Michael was deprived of

Eric couldn’t inhale.

They say equality is in American air,

flows in the rivers everywhere,

is inked in the Constitution

and is preached in all institutions.

If this is equality, then why I can’t I walk

hand in hand with my friends who identify as Black?

If this is equality,

I’m disgusted.
To call this country my home.

Kill me now,

It’s better to be dead

than to live and breathe here

and to share this vile air.

I’ll be better off dead and to die on my own

than while walking home from the grocery store.

It’s better to be dead

than live in this post-racial America,

where racism reigns over the land,

sitting high on her mighty chair.

Information

This entry was posted on November 26, 2014 by in Uncategorized.
