beyond the green: collective of middlebury voices

a student-run publication that seeks to provide space for voices that are not being heard on our campus. we are grounded by politics that are radical, anti-racist, anti-sexist, anti-classist, anti-homophobic, anti-ableist, and anti-transphobic (against all forms of oppression) and that reject the structural neo-liberal paradigm that characterizes middlebury college and its official publications

dear community

Dear community,

        I am typing this email distressed, not just because of the impending final examinations that I am to take in the next week, but also because the safe space that our community has forged has become severely threatened. I am sure, you have read the email sent by Shirley Collado this morning that describes the hostile remarks and imagines sent in the social platform, Grindr, to several members of the LGBTQ and Middlebury community. I was shocked to wake up to this email on my inbox, because I too was victimized by the rampant homophobic and racially charged messages I received. At the moment that I received these disturbing messages, I was unmoved, but upon talking to other students on Grindr, I could not help but realize that this was not to be taken lightly. I want the campus to know that this event is not an isolated moment of discrimination against our community. Many times the campus and the administration have failed to act accordingly to threats to our community, and we cannot withstand any longer this oppression. I call for an urgent demonstration of the solidarity of our community in the form of a discussion, preferably at Hillcrest 103. I understand that finals week is stressful, but more stressful is seeing members of our community terrorized, therefore, I urged you to press on the matter. I also urge all the victims to attend and make their voices heard.

Sincerely,

Distressed

Information

This entry was posted on May 15, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , .
