beyond the green: collective of middlebury voices

a student-run publication that seeks to provide space for voices that are not being heard on our campus. we are grounded by politics that are radical, anti-racist, anti-sexist, anti-classist, anti-homophobic, anti-ableist, and anti-transphobic (against all forms of oppression) and that reject the structural neo-liberal paradigm that characterizes middlebury college and its official publications

Life is good. It hasn’t always been, but it’s been a journey and I’m grateful for the journey.

I have good mental health. I know I am fortunate. I have a mom, older cousin, and aunt who are seriously debilitated by their anxiety and depression. I work hard to maintain good mental health. I talk with a counselor every week to work through the things that pop up in every day life, whether that’s a break up, a divorce, a sticky situation. I exercise every day because a healthy body can support a healthy mind. I breathe deeply each time my lungs take up space, because for me my breath is my grounding lucky charm. I used to let things bubble below the surface and then explode once something set me off. Now I try to be mindful of how I’m feeling, almost every hour I do a check in with myself. Life is good. It hasn’t always been, but it’s been a journey and I’m grateful for the journey.

Information

This entry was posted on February 3, 2014 by in Mental Health and tagged .
