beyond the green: collective of middlebury voices

a student-run publication that seeks to provide space for voices that are not being heard on our campus. we are grounded by politics that are radical, anti-racist, anti-sexist, anti-classist, anti-homophobic, anti-ableist, and anti-transphobic (against all forms of oppression) and that reject the structural neo-liberal paradigm that characterizes middlebury college and its official publications

Where does confidence live in your body?

-Why do I feel the pressure to go on anxiety medication? I’m getting help through therapy and I wonder why there seems to be pressure to be on drugs, although I know they help for some people. It is a larger pharmaceutical issue? -The brain can be mysterious — where does the anxiety I experience come from? Why can’t I physically see it? It’s not like a broken bone that can be repaired with surgery or physical therapy. -What if mental health issues weren’t stigmatized and viewed as natural or normal? -I really enjoy the support of a counselor who you can be completely open with as they don’t know anyone you know. -Sometimes I feel like a weight has been lifted off my chest after I go to therapy. -I think a lot about how my definition of home is always changing, and how I’ve been establishing myself more and more here. -I want to enjoy college now while I’m here and not let the huge looming question of what I do afterwards damper it. -I am still thinking about the right time and place to be totally open with my mental health issues. -Skiing is such a liberating act for me because I’m surrounded by beautiful nature, and even though there are risks of falling down a mountain I still do it because I trust myself and it helps me to let go. -Nathan’s suicide in April 2015 still affects me on occasion. -Grief and loss can be difficult to experience away from your family, when all information is just through phone calls. -“Think of the parts of your body in which you feel most confident” — this is something we should always ask ourselves -“Where does confidence live in your body?”

Information

This entry was posted on January 31, 2014 by in Mental Health, Uncategorized and tagged .
