beyond the green: collective of middlebury voices

a student-run publication that seeks to provide space for voices that are not being heard on our campus. we are grounded by politics that are radical, anti-racist, anti-sexist, anti-classist, anti-homophobic, anti-ableist, and anti-transphobic (against all forms of oppression) and that reject the structural neo-liberal paradigm that characterizes middlebury college and its official publications

Mental health isn’t part of my experience – it IS my experience.

[TW Self-harm] I don’t know if I will ever stop being in a battle against mental illness, and that terrifies me. I grew up in an abusive household with a mother experiencing depression and anxiety. In high school, I waged a war against depression and self-harm. I came out victorious, only to spiral into anxiety and then depression again in college. Mental health isn’t part of my experience – it IS my experience. That fight is one that will never stop, one that will keep me in bed some days, one that will sometimes make me stop eating, but also one that has made me stronger. It sometimes scares people to see me at my worst, but I am also the hardest worker at being my best. I will not let my mental illness win. It may try, but it will not determine who I am. I am happiness and energy and love and boldness and everything I want to be, when I am winning. And I assure you, I will continue to win.

Information

This entry was posted on January 31, 2014 by in Mental Health and tagged .
