beyond the green: collective of middlebury voices

a student-run publication that seeks to provide space for voices that are not being heard on our campus. we are grounded by politics that are radical, anti-racist, anti-sexist, anti-classist, anti-homophobic, anti-ableist, and anti-transphobic (against all forms of oppression) and that reject the structural neo-liberal paradigm that characterizes middlebury college and its official publications

I thought I was fine, I thought I didn’t need help, but I was wrong.

After my break up with the boy i loved, I fell into depression. THe thing that hurt the most was that not only did I lose my partner, but I also lost my best friend. Man did I love him. I tried distracting myself so that I wouldn’t think of him and throughout the day, when I was so busy I was fine. Then late at night I’d lay in bed and cry. Three months of crying. I thought I was fine, I thought I didn’t need help, but I was wrong. I needed help and I denied it because I didn’t want people to think I was crazy. See the thing is, we didn’t break up because we weren’t in love anymore. We broke up because I left. I left him alone. I was the only thing he ever had, other than his dog. And if I felt this way, I could only imagine what he was feeling. Maybe he needed help too and he just didn’t say it. Scared of what other people might think. I know because I was there. I hope he’s doing fine.

Information

This entry was posted on January 31, 2014 by in Mental Health and tagged .
