beyond the green: collective of middlebury voices

a student-run publication that seeks to provide space for voices that are not being heard on our campus. we are grounded by politics that are radical, anti-racist, anti-sexist, anti-classist, anti-homophobic, anti-ableist, and anti-transphobic (against all forms of oppression) and that reject the structural neo-liberal paradigm that characterizes middlebury college and its official publications

I am so grateful for all those who are willing to take me as I come, and accept that happy me is not the only me.

I have a word document on my computer, hidden in folders within folders within folders, entitled: “Selfcare.doc” I have used it thrice and frequently forget that it is there. In meetings all over campus I hear the words “make sure to take care of your needs” and “I’m so stressed” inserted into conversations as if they were logical partners. It makes me worry. My self care is on word docs, lined paper scrawled with pens pencils and smudges. My self care is over skype with old friends and in dorm rooms with new ones. My self care is the couch that lets me sink in. There are times when the world seems to be crashing around me. When the hugs and the listeners just aren’t enough. There are times when I feel like I’m not getting through to my friends, when my listening and my hugs don’t seem to be enough. But there are also times when I feel connected, confident and genuinely happy. I am so grateful for all those who are willing to take me as I come, and accept that happy me is not the only me. That frustrated and confused me is not the only me. That me. just a two letter word, can encompass so much and so many elements.

Information

This entry was posted on January 31, 2014 by in Mental Health and tagged .
