beyond the green: collective of middlebury voices

a student-run publication that seeks to provide space for voices that are not being heard on our campus. we are grounded by politics that are radical, anti-racist, anti-sexist, anti-classist, anti-homophobic, anti-ableist, and anti-transphobic (against all forms of oppression) and that reject the structural neo-liberal paradigm that characterizes middlebury college and its official publications

But you’re my brother and I’m your sister I’ll pick you up now If you pick me up later.

I sit on the corner of your bed
Red sludge scabbing over
under the band aid on my leg

You are trapped under six blankets
A cage
for your restless body
“But my blood is still cold” you complain

Rabbit ears sprout from your head
You have S U P E R S O N I C hearing
“You’re too loud” you said

Though I only speak in a whisper
You cover your ears and shake your head
“I’m not free, I feel dead”

S h a k i n g f i n g e r s
stroke your face
So soft,
not for you–but for me
Prepared to retract in a race

“I won’t hurt you” you say
But my hands tremble anyway
You say that…but I no longer trust that

Black and blue weigh down your bottom lids
Salty sea rolls down your hollow cheeks
Catching on the ridge of your thin, cracked, open lips

There is no sound other than your delusion
Scribbling away in lists on blank pages
Strewn Across the house

organized disorder

“I’m an astronaut,” you say
Your tired eyes now clear as day
Your tense fingers folding away

At those scribbled lists on blank pages
Into an airplane that you launch towards my face
I think it’s time for me to walk away

But you’re my brother and I’m your sister
I’ll pick you up now
If you pick me up later

Information

This entry was posted on January 31, 2014 by in Mental Health and tagged .
